Fly Lice

July 17, 2009 at 12:31 pm (lunch) (, , )

Breakfast: The most important meal of the day. And I never eat it. In lieu of eating a(n) (un)healthy breakfast, I choose to sleep until the last possible moment to get ready for work. I’ve been doing this for a long time; probably as far back as intermediate school. To me, sleep>food.

Even so, I love breakfast food. Ever hear of “brinner”? Yeah, that’s just breakfast for dinner (or anytime!). I don’t know if it’s because I so rarely eat it but I do thoroughly enjoy a good breakfast meal. Pancakes, waffles (yes, even waffles), eggs, omelettes, fried rice – I love it all.

Speaking of fried rice (segue!), Nikki had posted the following on Facebook.

made fried rice for breakfast and it turned out awesome.

…Gah! I want fried rice now! She went on to explain the ingredients she used.

It was the first time I tried using the NOH brand seasoning packet for fried rice. I put egg, portuguese sausage and frozen peas and carrots and it came out better than I expected. I was going to make over easy eggs with it too, but we were running short on time this morning.

YOU’RE EVIL. I wanted – nay – NEEDED fried rice now. Unfortunately it was only around nine in the morning. Hours before I’d be able to get anything remotely like fried rice.

Surprisingly, the time flew by rather quickly. Before I knew it, it was lunch time. But where do I go? I work in Waipahu and I am not very familiar with the area food wise. I know where the mainstays are such Jack in the Box and Taco Bell, but there are quite a few smaller eateries in the area I’m afraid to go to because the food might suck. That, and I don’t want to get shivved

I decided on Leeward Drive In. I enjoy most of the food there (on occasion, because somtimes it’s just too everything) and I know they have an all day breakfast menu. Fried rice must be on there, right? I take the short drive down and take a look at the menu. Yes! They do indeed have “fried rice and two eggs” on the menu. “I’ll take the fried rice and two eggs, please. Over-easy on the eggs”. This, I feel is an important part when having just fried rice for a meal: Eggs. And not just any type of eggs. They must be runny. Smashing into the yolk and allowing to spill over into the fried rice, creating this sorta mushy, sticky blend of rice and eggs. That is the way to go.

07-17-09_1121I get my order, along with a green river, and return to the office to consume what I craved. I opened the container and was somewhat disappointed by what I had. ” What? No vegetables?!”, ran through my head. Carrots and peas are such a quintessential part of what made fried rice fried rice when I was growing up. Also, it contained pieces of pork rather than portuguese sausage. I dunno. This is a breakfast item. It was also much darker than I’m accustomed to; it looked more akin to brown rice and fried rice. It did have green onion and bits of scrambled eggs, though. A plus in my book.

Still, even with all its faults, it wasn’t bad. It was okay. The eggs definitely helped here. I probably won’t be ordering it again. I’ll have to find another place that serves such a dish if I ever get the craving again.
 
Ugh, I probably shouldn’t have eaten as much as I did. And I wish I had more green river. It’s been a while since I’ve had one of these.

Aside: Henh. It’s been a month since my last post. The time between each post is increasing. How long before I just say “eff it” and stop?

1 Comment

  1. Kerry said,

    Fried rice is one of those things that you simply MUST have every once in a while.

    I highly recommend you try Family BBQ’s fried rice. It’s a whole plate of fried rice, like in your picture. Then, they throw a couple of eggs on it (prepared any way you want), and as a bonus, either teri beef or chicken! Last I remember, it only cost about 5 or 6t bucks, but prices may have gone up since then. It was a staple meal during my Radio Shack years. I was sad to find out after returning to Wahiawa some years later, that they had closed up shop and moved on. Sadness. But, as fate would have it, they actually moved closer to my current work location. You can find Family BBQ at the Airport Trade Center, on the end of the building opposite Ninja Sushi.

Leave a Reply

