Yellow Laser Beam

May 15, 2009 at 3:03 pm (Internet) (, , )

The end of the work week is nearly here for me and I am uncharacteristicallylistening to music. For the most part if I’m listening to anything it’s going to be podcasts of the video game persuasion. Amazon is having its monthly 50/$5 sale going on throughout the month of May – 50 albums for $5 each (mp3 download). I went a bit nuts and ended up getting sixalbums (I mistakenly noted on Facebook that I had purchased seven albums). These sales are absolutely evil because I always end up getting at least four or five albums.

I’ve mentioned this before but while I’d prefer to get hard copies of music you just can’t beat buying entire albums for $5. Often that’s more than half off, sometimes even a third of what you’d pay for the physical CD. I just have to remember to backup the mp3s or else I’ll end up losing them like I lost some when my laptop died.

Here’s what I picked up:

Utada - This is the oneUtada Hikaru – This Is the One : I was a bit surprised to see this one on there. I’d heard some of her Japanese stuff before and thought she was okay. I wasn’t aware she’d been releasing stuff outside of Japan. There’s also quite a bit of info posted in the first comment. I picked it up based off of that comment alone. It remains to be seen if I’ll even listen to it.

 

 

 

Metric - FantasiesMetric  – Fantasies: I’d picked up one of Metric’s previous albums (Old World Underground) and enjoyed it enough to pick up this one without giving the previews a listen.

 

 

 

 

MC Frontalot - Nerdcore RisingMC Frontalot – Nerdcore Rising : I wanna say he’s got a song on Rock Band. I don’t listen to a lot of rap (insert none) but every now and then I get a hankering to listen to some. I figure I’d give this a go since it’s rap and about stuff I can relate to. Well, maybe “relate” isn’t the best word.

 Edit: Listened to the album and thoroughly enjoyed it.

 

 

Ida Maria - Fortress 'round My HeartIda Maria – Fortress ’round My Heart : I’m not sure why I picked this one up. The stuff I previewed had this sort of punk feel to it, with a little bit of pop thrown in. Remains to be seen if I’ll even give it a chance.

 

 

 

Ladyhawke - LadyhawkeLadyhawke – Ladyhawke : She’s playing Nintendo and has a Zapper in her pants. And cats! That’s what initially brought my eye to the album cover. I gave the previews a listen and it has this 80s vibe going for it. I dug it so I bought it.

 

 

 

Cut Copy - In Ghost ColoursCut Copy – In Ghost Colours : Another band with an 80s sound. Listening to it right now and it’s catchy.

 

 

 

 

“Yellow Laser Beam” is the title to a MC Frontalot song on the Nercore Rising album. Here are the lyrics. Yes, it is what you think it is.

Well, it’s Friday. I’ll leave you guys with the following image. I’m probably going to regret it later. Have a good weekend, everyone.

panty explosion

2 Comments

  1. joel u. said,

    Vader knows what’s up.

  2. mindfullyoblivious said,

    I picked up “Fortress ’round My Heart,” literally, just hours ago. I only got it cuz it had this one song I heard and wanted (I Like You So Much Better When You’re Naked). After listening to the whole album, I still only like that one song. If it weren’t so PG-13, I figure it could be on an iPod commercial and that’s pretty much the only reason I like it. I’m fake. I’m not gonna knock the rest of the album, though, cuz there’s nothing wrong with it, but it’s just not what I’m into.

Leave a comment